Luis Fabiano Has a Hand of God, Too
The rules for a hand ball are pretty simple. If the ball touches a player between his shoulder and his fingers, the ball has been handled. When such an infraction occurs, the referee has one option: Awarding a “Direct free kick from the position where the offence occurred (see Law 13 – Position of free kick) or penalty kick.”
In many cases, cards are also delivered to the guilty party, including a red card if the offense was deliberate enough.
One thing that shouldn’t happen: A goal being awarded after the ball has been handled by the scoring player. For historical sake, ask Diego Maradona, proud owner of the “Hand of God” goal, which was probably done as payback for the Falklands War. Now, thanks to Luis Fabiano’s second goal against Ivory Coast. While it was a great finish from Fabiano, because he first controlled the ball with his shoulder, the score shouldn’t count.
To his credit, Fabiano admitted he handled the ball, and even went as far to compare his score to infamous Maradona goal, something the current Argentina coach didn’t agree with.
When asked about Fabiano comparing his goal to Maradona’s own “Hand of God” feat, the hero of Argentina’s run to the 1986 World Cup crown said there is simply no comparison.
“No no, he had it on the arms. It’s quite obvious. Twice he hit the ball with his arm,” Maradona said.
French referee Stephane Lannoy, however, made the bigger impression upon Maradona by laughing with Fabiano moments after missing the handball call.
“The tragic-comic thing was the referee’s smile after the goal,” Maradona said. “I didn’t see the referee when I scored the goal against England. I looked at the people and it was a goal.
Nice reasoning, Diego. Because the crowd approved, your hand ball goal against England was legitimate? Anyway, while Fabiano’s goal won’t be memorialized the way Maradona’s has, he’s still a proud member of the “Illegal World Cup Goals that Count” group.